For The Guys

February 22, 2011 at 10:19 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Hey guys, David here. I’ll be sharing my workouts with you because I don’t like to spend lots of time at the gym, I have other things to do as I’m sure you do as well!  Ready for my workout of the day?  I like this one in particular because its a great lift that only takes about an hour.  If you have the time, I always like to get a little cardio in after a lift, at least 15-20 minutes.  But if you don’t then just alternate the days to do cardio one day and weight lifting the other.  Of course, if you wind up alternating you should try for more than 15-20 minutes of cardio, closer to 30-45 minutes.
Before I give you the workout I would like to mention some safety tips, because safety is definitely the most important thing to remember when lifting weights.

  • When using a bar ALWAYS use clips on both sides to hold the weights on, unsecured weights are a hazard to you and others in the gym around you.
  • Don’t use too much weight. Too much weight can prohibit you from maintaining proper form and you are also more prone to injury.
  • Make sure you get a good stretch in, you can also do a warm up set for any particular exercise you are doing; cold, tight muscles are easy to injure.  For more info on stretching click here!

Now comes the lifting. Todays workout targets your chest and triceps.  *You can modify this as much as you want, for example changing the number of repetitions (8, 10 or 12 for size and strength, up to 15 or 20 for definition and endurance).

  1. Chest Press: 3 sets 12 reps (I’ll abbreviate this with 3×12)
  2. Incline Chest Press: 3×12
  3. Decline Chest Press: 3×12
  4. Chest Fly: 3×12
  5. Incline Chest Fly: 3×12
  6. Decline Chest Fly: 3×12
  7. Tricep Dips: These are difficult so do as many as you can, but try to do at least 8-10 reps for 3 sets (body weight or you can clip weights to a belt for more resistance).
  8. Tricep Extension: 3×10
  9. Skull Crushers: 3×10 (click if you don’t know what this exercise is)

There you have it guys, this workout always leaves me nice and sore the next day (my number of reps was for muscle building). So give it a try and tell me what you think!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The first tip is right on. I saw a guy get really hurt without the clips.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

