Love The Skin You’re In!

February 22, 2011 at 12:20 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Hi again! Loren here. Hope everyone enjoyed the gorgeous weather this weekend! As you know, my posts will cater to the health, happiness and fitness of young adult women. For me, working out isn’t about shedding pounds or shrinking my frame. Rather, it’s about me feeling confident, healthy, strong and energized. If you’re looking to lose weight, there’s no harm in that…Just try and channel your thinking to “being healthy,” rather than “being thin.”  By simply having a different mindset when it comes to working out, I find it easier to stay motivated and achieve personal goals. I speak for all the authors of wellnessU when I say we want our readers to get inspired for maintaing a healthy, overall self. After all, we’re doing this for the wellness of U! So, embrace yourself, love the skin you’re in and aim to better your health by routinely working-out, eating healthy and of course, having fun!

With that being said, I encourage all women to join me on my quest to become stronger and healthier through fitness. Feel free to alter any workouts as you see fit. I combine a variety of workouts from magazines such as Cosmopolitan, Self and Women’s Health, and I have no “set” routines. I like to change it up and have fun with it, so I encourage you to do the same!

I usually workout five times a week…everyone needs a break on the weekends! I alter each day between cardio and strength training, and for all you busy-bodies, they are always less than an hour long! This morning, I began my first workout following the notorious Biggest Loser’s trainer, Jillian Michaels. To access some of her cardio workout routines, click here!

Here’s what I tried this morning and loved. It’s coming straight from Jillian Michael!

Start on the elliptical.
1. Go for 5 minutes forward with your incline at 10 and resistance at 4.
2. Go for 10 minutes forward with your incline at 15 and resistance at 7.
3. Go for 10 minutes backward with your incline at 15 and resistance at 7.

Then hop on the stair stepper.
1. Start at level 4 for 10 minutes.
2. Go for 5 minutes forward at level 3.
3. Go for 5 minutes backward at level 2.

It only took 45 minutes, and I definitely felt the effects afterwards. Now it’s your turn…Try it and let me know what you think!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good suggestions.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

