Baked Basil Pesto Salmon

February 24, 2011 at 3:45 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Hey everyone!  Emily here, and I hope you’re just as excited about the weekend looming around the corner as I am.  I know that sometimes I don’t eat as well over the weekend, so I’m going to make something that is healthy today in the hopes that I’ll eat the leftovers tomorrow and Saturday.

For those of you fish fans, this is a meal for you.  And for those who don’t get as excited over the prospect that at some point their dinner was swimming around in the ocean, you’ll be surprised at how good, and good for you, this feast is.  Today I’m going to cook basil pesto salmon with asparagus and couscous on the side.  I found this recipe from one of my top favorite food blogs, Kalyn’s Kitchen

What you’ll need:

  • Salmon (as much as you’d like)
  • 1 can basil pesto (I use this)
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 box couscous (you can substitute with brown rice or pasta, your choice)
  • Asparagus (as much as you can eat!)

First, preheat your oven to 450 F.

Then place foil atop your baking sheet and spread a little olive oil on top.

Place your salmon on top and add as much basil pesto as you’d like, I used about 2 tsp. to fully cover my salmon.

Next, slice up your tomatoes and place them on top of your fish, using as much or as little as you’d like.

Now wrap the salmon in the foil, making sure the seams are closed on all ends.

Cook at 450 F for 15 minutes, then enjoy!

For the asparagus, simply boil a pot of water, then toss (carefully) in your 2 in. pieces of asparagus.  Let it cook uncovered for 2 to 3 minutes (don’t overcook!), then drain and toss in a bowl with 2 tbs. basil pesto.

For the couscous, I get Near East’s 100% natural roasted garlic and olive oil couscous, which I picked up from Food Lion.  For this couscous’ nutritional info, click here.  Just follow the directions on the box and in 5 minutes you’ll have a fabulous side to your baked salmon.

By eating recipes like this, I have lost over 25 lbs. since last May, and I can personally assure you that if you’re trying to shed a few pounds you don’t have to sacrifice taste!  I’ll be sharing the easy, healthy meals that have helped me get to where I am today, and I hope you’ll enjoy them as much as I do.

Have a delicious weekend!

Emily

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

