A workout from home

March 15, 2011 at 7:41 pm | Posted in Fitness | Leave a comment

Hey guys it’s David and I’m back from spring break!  If any of you are like me (and I hope you are so I feel better about myself) I didn’t do much over spring break concerning fitness, I was on break after all.  My workouts over break consisted of running for a couple of days and getting in some quick weight lifting when I could.  But now it’s back to the grind and the gym for me.  But I’d like to share some of what I did over break, because although I didn’t much, when I work out, I work out with a purpose.  After all, if you’re not going work hard when you exercise it’s almost not worth it.  Working out is like class: you get out what you put into it.  So the harder you work, the faster you’ll see results.

I like to be able to get strength training in without having to go to the gym.  So over break I threw together some body weight exercises that left me feeling great, and I didn’t even have to leave my own house!  So here’s what I did:

3×12 regular push ups

3×12 close grip/military push ups- form for these is different than other push ups click here for a quick video tutorial from Youtube! Just remember to try to keep your elbows to your sides!

3×12 wide grip push ups

3×12 decline pushups- for these you can put your feet up on a bed or couch or chair, your choice.

Do one set of each for a complete cycle, and superset each cycle with a set of pull ups, at least 8 but if you can do more then do it to it.  If you don’t know what a superset is or how to do one click here! (Courtesy of bodybuilding.com, which is a great resource by the way!)

To finish off I like to do cardio after my lifts so if you’ve got the time go for a quick run or do some sprints.  Click here for a good sprint routine from Mark’s Daily Apple, a great fitness blog.

This is a great work out for your chest and back and you can do it all from home.  Give a try and let me know what you think by commenting on the post!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

