Don’t Dread the Shred

March 18, 2011 at 4:36 am | Posted in Eats | 1 Comment

Hallelujah, it’s Fridaaaay!

I thought I would share with you a little creeper shot I took of some of my housemates doing the Shred in…..our foyer?!  I guess they didn’t have enough space in one room because there was three of them!

Sneaky shot of The Shred!

He he he.  Anyway, yesterday I made my own two-way version of a “Flavorful Fiesta”! Depending on what you and your friends have or want, you can prepare it as a salad or a wheat burrito.  Because I prepared more than one serving, I actually had the burrito for lunch and the salad for dinner! I cooked as I went, adding more flavor here and there. Here’s the rough skinny:

  • boneless, skinless chicken breasts (or even ready-made/frozen grilled strips)
  • black beans (canned)
  • yellow corn (canned)
  • salsa (whichever kind!)
  • diced onion (white or purple)
  • optional: shredded mexican blended chees
  • wheat flour tortillas
  • optional: shredded lettuce for burrito
  • mixed greens for salad
  • cilantro, salt, pepper, garlic salt
  • cooked brown rice (Minute Rice works well!)

Heat cooking oil on medium-high in a saute pan.  Brown chicken while adding salsa, cilantro (my fave!), and other spices you like.  Add the onion, corn, black beans, and more salsa if you desire.  Toss your little sauteed fiesta onto a wheat flour tortilla and a bed of cooked and fluffy brown rice…or toss it onto a heaping plate of mixed greens.  Add a topping bar and you’ve got a party!  (If you want to add chips, multigrain or blue corn chips are best!)

This is a fun and frugal group recipe!  Seriously–split the cost of everything or contribute different elements! Here’s how my meals turned out!

Fiesta salad!

Fiesta Burrito!

What do you think of my recipe?! Let me know and have a wonderful weekend!

Chelsea (P.S.–I’m succeeded in my daily water drinking….how are you doing?)

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Haha love the creeper shot! I am a huge fan of doing the Shred!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

