PM Pick-me-ups

March 24, 2011 at 1:50 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

You know the feeling: It’s 4pm, you’re exhausted and you really just want to reach for something sweet (cookies, chocolate or a blended Starbucks frap). You might even result to this aisle:

 

 

Sound familiar? You’re not the only one, and there’s a reason you feel this way.

 

If you’re not preparing for your busy day by eating a breakfast and lunch complete with complex carbs and protein, chances are you’re going to hit a wall in the afternoon. Foods with sugar happen to raise your blood sugar, making your brain reach for those sweets. A better option? Carry fresh fruit! Throw an apple, banana or navel orange (delicious this time of year) in your bag/backpack. These not only pack well but give you the natural sugar you need to refuel without the added fat. Just get in the habit of having something with you, you’ll be glad you do. Don’t believe me? Look how happy I was when I started toting snacks around:

You won’t always be prepared though; this is what I snacked on when I needed an emotional/energy pick me up while stressing over a midterm:

The carton, not the paper.

So because this was an emotional impulse snack, I went with some chocolate. They have this brand of Soymilk available around my campus as well as most grocery stores. The small 8oz carton has 5 grams of protein and only 3.5 grams of fat. At 150 calories, it’s a healthy afternoon pick me up that tastes a little whole lot more exciting than water.

What’s your favorite pm pick me up? Is it a guilty pleasure? I’d love to know!

Weekly Wellness: I’m 3 for 3 on exercise goals since Monday, but definitely sore. Keep it going!!!

 

Amelia

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. My favorite pm snack is a few dark chocolate covered almonds and a glass of skim milk!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

