Baked Chicken Basil Pesto

March 24, 2011 at 1:45 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Hey everyone!  Hope your week hasn’t been as stressful as mine- and if it has, you deserve to cook yourself a delicious and healthy dinner tonight!  I made baked chicken with basil pesto- and it is seriously SO GOOD!  I found this recipe on one of my favorite food blogs, Kalyn’s Kitchen!

What you’ll need:

  • Boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1/2 cup basil pesto (I use this)
  • 2 oz. (1/2 cup) grated low-fat mozzarella cheese

First, preheat your oven to 375 F.  Now cut your chicken into strips lengthwise, making about 2 to 3 pieces per breast.  Next, spray your cooking dish with nonstick spray, and spread 1/4 cup of the basil pesto on the bottom of the pan.  Add your chicken and spread another 1/4 cup of the basil pesto on top.  Cover the dish with foil and cook for 25- 30 minutes.  Remove the chicken and foil and sprinkle with cheese.  Cook for 5 minutes, then broil for another 5 to brown the cheese (YUM).

I ate my chicken with broccoli that I cooked and tossed in basil pesto as well.  You can also add couscous to soak up all the juices from your chicken!

I definitely recommend this dish- its the best I’ve made yet!

Weekly Wellness:  Although I didn’t make it to the gym on Monday, I did on Tuesday (jogging for 45 minutes and stretching for 15), and got a run in outside on Wednesday (35 minutes).  I always try to fit in exercising- even during my busiest weeks- to reduce stress and get energy.  Now that we’ve been getting some nice weather its great to run or walk outside!

Emily

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So glad you enjoyed the pesto chicken!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

