Steppin’ it up

March 28, 2011 at 4:50 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

A few days ago I attended my first EVER group fitness class at JMU‘s UREC! I know, I know, where have I been, right?  To be honest, I’ve just gotten so caught up in maintaining my own, individual work-outs, attending a group fitness class didn’t seem too appealing. With pressure from my roommates, I finally found myself in a step class full of girls ready to break a sweat.

Because I’m a cardio-queen, I thought this class would be a breeze! Was I wrong! This is an intense 45-minute, nonstop cardio workout with a challenging choreography. Thankfully, in the middle of our workout, the instructor gave us a two-minute break for water (when I was able to snap this photo!). I would definitely recommend signing up for a step class. And not going to lie, I liked being in a group…it challenged and pushed me harder for sure!

Because it was my first time, I was a little lost and behind on the moves. For all you first-timers like myself, I suggest signing up for a First Step class instead. I plan on attending a First Step class in the next few days. Hopefully afterward, I’ll have mastered the moves and be able to attend the regular step class without looking like a fool! If you’re a student at JMU like myself, go here to view and register for group fitness classes.

***As for my weekly challenge, I’m proud to say I exercised five out of the seven days last week! Just getting in a mini-workout for 30 minutes is all I need to feel better. Who says working out should take hours? As for this week’s challenge, I can already say it’s going to be tough. With papers due and late-night meetings, my sleep might be getting cut short. I’m going to try my hardest though, promise!

Hope everyone’s weeks are off to a good start! Remember, get your sleep!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

