A healthified favorite!

April 8, 2011 at 10:39 am | Posted in Eats | Leave a comment

Hey y’all! I have been so excited to blog this week…the warmer weather has me motivated to move more and eat lighter.  When I got home the other night, my housemate Jessica was cooking up a storm and surrounded by a plethora of different ingredients.  Of course, I got my nose into what she was doing!  Lucky for me, she provided a great inspiration for today’s blog because she was making healthified Eggplant Parmesan! Mmmm!

Healthified Eggplant Parm!

This is a great dish to make with a group because you won’t have to worry about what to do with left-over ingredients or spoiling them.  Plus, splitting the cost never hurts!

So for healthified Eggplant Parmesan:

  • Sliced eggplant (slices looking like medallions)
  • Egg or organic egg substitute
  • Spaghetti sauce (my healthy favorite–Prego Veggie Smart!)
  • Whole wheat spaghetti (or whichever pasta you prefer)
  • Italian breadcrumbs or crushed Fiber One cereal + Italian Seasoning)
  • Low fat Mozzarella Cheese (if desired)

So, the simplied steps are as follows: Wash the eggplant, then slice horizontally into medallions.   Coat slices in an egg wash, then dip both sides in prepared breadcrumbs or crushed cereal mixture.  Bake at 400 degrees F for 15 minutes. Boil the pasta until tender, top with spaghetti sauce, cheese, and of course the baked eggplant.  Pair with a fresh vegetable side like asparagus with balsamic vinagrette and you’ve got a meal!

This week’s wellness challenge has been hard for me because I have been eating smaller meals throughout the day, but I have been making sure to get more veggies and fruit than I do grains!  It’s so easy to load up on a plate full of breads, but veggies really do keep me full!  Gotta love em.

Enjoy your weekend everyone! If you’re in the Harrisonburg area, come and support Madipalooza!

Chels

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

