Purcell Park

April 18, 2011 at 1:30 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Thanks to my roommates, I just discovered Purcell Park. Sad, right?  For those of you like me and aren’t familiar with Purcell, it’s a 67-acre park located off South Main Street in Harrisonburg, Va. The park has three baseball fields, four tennis courts, a volleyball area, two playgrounds, three picnic shelters, a lake for fishing and my personal favorite — a 1.5 mile trail. The best part is: It’s super close to the JMU campus! For a map, click here. If you’re in the Harrisonburg community, I definitely suggest visiting Purcell.

Because it’s almost 70 degrees here in Harrisonburg today, I decided to forego the gym and instead, use Purcell’s 1.5 mile trail for my workout. I love the time of the year when I can temporarily say good-bye to the treadmill! Want to know the benefits of running on the treadmill vs. outside? View one of my previous posts here. With its steep hills, running on Purcell’s trail is a great workout. It felt a lot harder running three miles on the trail (going around twice) than running three miles on the treadmill. Another great thing about Purcell’s trail? It’s gravel — giving your body a break from constant pounding. For differences in running surfaces, click here. When I stopped for a quick breather, I snapped these photos:

Sorry for the blur….Didn’t realize I had a smudge on my cell phone’s camera lens!  :-/  If you’re like me and enjoy getting-in a good workout, take advantage of the Springtime weather and Harrisonburg’s scenic views by visiting Purcell. If you’re not in Harrisonburg, find a local park/running trail near you by clicking here! What’re some of your favorite running routes? Let me know what you think!

-Loren

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] the weather, this hotspot deserves recognition. Check out the full post from our fwllow bloggers, WellnessU, for a great review of the park, pictures and more info (and cool health tips and recipes since […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

